The Opposite of Cheese Danish

I have a gig tomorrow at Hart House of UofT at 9:00. We’re playing a lot of good music, and some that stretches my idiomatic ability. Come out if you like, it’s free(as so many gigs seem to be these days…) and I can at least guarantee a good time.

Seeing as I have that gig, here’s another lazy post with a Youtube video to tide you over until my transcription posts this weekend.

This is probably my second favourite youtube video other than the Erroll one I posted. The band is a who’s who of musicians that I enjoy, all of which are the archetype of my favoured sort of musician: ones with an extremely distinctive voice who are not often recognized by the public or the run of the mill musician.

Although I don’t know every member of the band, I do know most. The Trumpet player is Ted Curson, who got his start with Mingus on the album “Charles Mingus Presents Charles Mingus”. It’s an interesting album in many ways(not least of all the music…), as it is addressed to a live audience although it was recorded in a studio. On tenor is one of my top 10 favourite musicians, Booker Ervin, another Mingus sideman. Everything about him screams individuality, technique, and hard-edged taste. Much more on him to come(along with Eric Dolphy, if you’ll recall). The alto is Pony Poindexter, an extremely interesting figure in Jazz, as he was never quite a bandleader of note, although he did have many recordings of interesting people together, such as Booker Ervin and Eric Dolphy with Dexter Gordon and Johnny Griffin. A great blues and bop player(as I’m sure you can hear). I’m reading his autobiography, “The Pony Express” next in my book queue.  Perhaps a clarification post will emerge from it.  The pianist is my original inspiration, Kenny Drew. An interesting fit, as he’s more of a Blue Note artist and a sideman to Dexter Gordon. It makes sense, as this was recorded in Denmark, him being a famous expat. of the 1960s. The final member that I know is the late Edgar Bateman, who passed last May. He was a Philidelphia drummer who played with the likes of Reggie Workman and Sonny Stitt. Those who live in Philidelphia are very aware of him, as he co-hosted a jam there for upwards of thirty years.

All of these musicians are not well known, but all sound unlike anyone else. There are millions of people like this, and if musicians started listening to people of this nature, in twenty years we could have twenty relatively unknown styles reach a new development, and then we would have a deeper breadth in our music. I’ll elaborate on this in the future.

Best part of this video? First eight of Booker’s solo. More like first ten of Booker’s solo.
Worst part of this video? Kenny’s solo. It chugs along great, all chordal, and then in the last eight he plays one of the most refined and burning lines I’ve ever heard and then stops. Never before have I wanted a soloist to keep playing so much. Killing.

If anyone knows who the flautist or bassist is, speak up.

If anyone knows where to find the rest of this broadcast, get us a marriage license.

“NEVER sacrifice time for lack of chops!” -Stephen Enos

-Martin

~ by Martin Porter on November 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
