See What Man Has Wrought!

Ever wonder why I’m not posting every day?  Here’s why.

My mighty By-Ya project is almost complete.  Here are the lifts.  The composite is only to compare phrasing, so please excuse the overlaps.  Putting two bars a page is counterproductive, you don’t get a real idea of the situation when you do that.

Full analysis and overall musings to follow, plus I still haven’t forgotten about the remaining 7 New York posts.  I’ll also update the changes when I finish isolating which ones the soloists are thinking about(i.e. I’m not sure Trane knows those ascending major chords even exist).  Since I haven’t lifted Monk on this, I put down the most basic changes I could muster for these.  I can’t make a judgment call on the “real” changes of the tune until I do that.

Fun times.  Guess which one was hardest to lift?

Bye-Ya Composite

Bye-Ya Steve Lacy

Bye-Ya Phil Woods

Bye-Ya Charlie Rouse

Bye-Ya John Coltrane

Rouse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztbM-1B8Q40

Trane: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fl7T5Bqa0A

I really don’t want to steal money out of the pockets of Steve Lacy’s estate, so try to find it yourself.  It’s on iTunes, and the record is called Reflections.  Worth the 6.99.  The Big Band and Quartet in Concert(the one with Phil) is notoriously hard to find, which is a damn shame because it’s probably my favourite out of the four(that or Steve Lacy.  I don’t know, it’s a hard choice).  Try to find it, it’s one of Monk’s best.

“I never even thought about whether or not they understand what I’m doing . . . the emotional reaction is all that matters as long as there’s some feeling of communication, it isn’t necessary that it be understood” -John Coltrane

-Martin

~ by Martin Porter on December 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
